Opting Out

Opting Out

Opting out removes someone permanently from our texting list. When you opt someone out, your conversation with them disappears and we will not be able to text them again (in the current campaign, or in any future campaigns).

When to Opt Out

Opt out a contact when:

  1. They ask for us to remove them from our list or to stop texting them. It's the law! (This includes, but isn't limited to: “Stop,” “Don’t text me,” “I’m on the Do Not Call List,” and “Unsubscribe”)
  2. They are rude, racist, or harassing you. (Learn more about how to deal with upsetting messages here.)
  3. The campaign’s specific instructions say to opt them out. 

Please check for instructions each time you join a new campaign, and if there are instructions please read them all the way through before you start texting. If you’re not sure whether or not to opt someone out, check the campaign instructions.

DO NOT opt someone out just because:

  1. They don’t want to take action or support the candidate. (Mark them “No” instead.)
  2. They disagree with the specific issue we’re texting them about right now.
  3. They're a wrong number or not in the right district. (Tag them "Wrong Number" or "Moved" instead.)

People who don't want to take action, don't support a candidate, or disagree with a specific issue may be interested in the next action or candidate we text about, so we don't want to opt them out unless they ask. And even if we currently have the wrong name or address for someone, a list for a future campaign might have the right name or location, so only opt out in those cases if they ask to be removed.

How to Opt Out Someone

  1. Optional but helpful: Add any applicable tags such as “Wrong Number” or “Moved” so we capture that info.
  2. Click “Opt Out.”
  3. Send the Opt Out message, adapting as needed.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.